Latest News

New JAMPRO Board Named

CHRISTOPHER TUFTON, Minister of Industry, Investment and Commerce, has announced real estate developer, Phillip Gore, as the newly appointed chairman of the Jamaica Promotions Corporation (JAMPRO).

Gore has served on the board since 2007 and as deputy chairman since March of last year. The executive chairman of Gore Developments Limited, he is a past president of the Incorporated Master Builders’ Association of Jamaica.

“Phillip Gore’s leadership and business acumen will help to accelerate the agency’s drive to increase foreign and local investments, as well as, to tap into global markets for our quality exports," said Tufton. “I repose the utmost confidence in Mr Gore’s ability to inspire and to lead the JAMPRO board and staff to achieve the desired results against the mandate of the Agency."

The new JAMPRO Board comprises 15 members, 9 of whom have been re-appointed.

In addition to the incoming chairman, the re-appointed members are: Christopher Zacca, who has been named deputy chairman; Rodney Davis; David Douglas; Paul Lalor; Thalia Lyn; Mark Myers; Ambassador Stewart Stephenson; and the President of JAMPRO, Sancia Bennett Templer, who sits on the board as an ex-officio director.

New members to the Board are: Paula Kerr-Jarrett; John Byles; Jeffery Hall; Mark Linehan; Peter Young; and Brian Jardine.

“A strong team of successful men and women have accepted the invitation to guide the work of this important state body for greater levels of achievement, and I wish to thank them for their contributions in service of the nation," said Tufton.

The appointments took effect on September 1.

From The Jamaica Observer, September 06, 2011